Stone Soup

These days, the anxiety is worse than it has been for a while. Actually, it’s worse than it’s ever been – anxiety is a new one for me; I’ve only been dealing with it for a few months. But I’ll tell you this much – I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. This isn’t a mental health blog, so I won’t go on about it, I’m only mentioning it because sometimes it keep me from leaving the house, answering the phone or engaging with anyone at all. Today is one of those days – the idea of leaving the house is too much for me. I can’t do it. I still, however, have kids to feed and that means I need to rustle something up with what’s in the house when that is, actually, very little.

 

So this is another version of stone soup

 

400g Salad Potatoes
4 Carrots
1 x 400g Tin of Chickpeas
300g Fresh Spinach
Sage
Salt & Pepper
1 Litre of Stock
600mls water
Oil

Wash and chop the potatoes.
Peel and chop the carrots.
Peel and chop the onion.
Drain the chickpeas.
Heat the oil in a large saucepan.
Add the onion, potatoes, carrots, salt, pepper and a good handful of the dried sage.
Sauté the lot for about five minutes, until the onion is softened.
Add the stock and about 600mls of water.
Bring to the boil.
Turn the stove down low, cover the pot and let simmer for about 20 minutes.
Add the spinach and stir through for about two minutes – until the leaves are just wilted.
Blend with your stick blender, adding more water if necessary.
Toss in the chickpeas and heat through for about another five minutes.
Serve with pasta, bread or rice to make a complete, filling meal.

 

 

Leave a comment